Kruger Brothers | Official Online Merchandise Store

Kruger Brothers - Spirit of the Rockies

The time and place is the turn of the last century in Banff, Alberta. Nestled in the Rockies, it’s a world that, until now, has done its best to live up to the European view of the region: rough, crass, and largely lawless. The settlers came in search of wealth, carried here on trains riding the 3000 miles of steel ribbon that recently linked one ocean with another, spanning the continent of North America.

That is the setting for Jens Kruger’s narrative work “Spirit of the Rockies”. The piece begins as a man in old age thinks back to when he first arrived in the Canadian Rockies to work as a guide. There he fell in love, from a distance, with a young woman who mysteriously went missing. We listen as he recalls how his brief encounter with her forever changed his perceptions of himself and his place in the world. A defining time in his life, it is one that all these years later he still struggles to fully understand.

Ultimately, his is a story of discovery about how a new land, and a new perspective, can lead us to find new things in ourselves. “Spirit of the Rockies,” says Kruger of the mountains themselves, “is our own falling in love and our own understanding of beauty. ... [The understanding that] we are part of this world, and it is a part of us”.

1. Prelude to a Journey
2. A Man and His Story
3. Spellbound
4. There Came a Howling Gale
5. Into The Stormy Night
6. This Is Me
7. Yet I Am Alive
8. As In So Many Dreams
9. The Winds We Ride
10. Forests Deep and Valleys Wide
11. My Love is True
12. I Will Find a Way
13. The Turning of the Wheel
14. Fare Thee Well, My Friend
15. Of Darkness and of Light
16. The Lake
17. Above the Timber Line
18. Through Ice and Snow
19. In Her Arms
20. Spirit of the Rockies
21. For All the Ties That Bind

Welcome Friends!

This is the on-line store for official Kruger Brothers merchandise!

Latest Tweets

Subscribe now to our email list!

We'd love to stay in touch on occasion.